This edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League was indeed a great success. The month long tournament saw ups and downs while teams contested for the top spots which were left wide open until the last game in the group stages. We take a look at the top specialities of this edition of this tournament that made it memorable.


I                 Victorious Underdogs- Madurai

The Madurai Panthers came into the third season without a single victory to show for. A change in name and rejig in franchise went a long way as the side went on to win the tournament. The team went on to win 5 out of the 7 group stage games ensuring a second place on the table. They went on to win the finals by 7 wickets against Dindigul Dragons.



II                 TNPL Shines Bright Without the Dazzle of Indian Stars

Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Vijay Shankar and Washington Sundar were not available for games throughout the tournament. Dindigul skipper Ravi Ashwin left midway for National commitments leaving young Jagadeesan incharge. Tamil Nadu bowling stalwart L. Balaji retired from all forms of the game. With the mass exodus of big names, the success of the tournament became a big question only for youngsters to later fill in those shoes. TNPL proved once again that good skills always attract eyes.



III                   Defending Champions Leave Early

TNPL has been an epic circular journey. As last year’s least ranking team Madurai Panthers won the title, the 2017 champions Chepauk Super Gillies were ousted from the competition with just two victories to show for. The management seems to have missed a trick by not having retained R Sathish, Ashwath ‘Bobo’ amongst others. It was disheartening for CSG fans to witness such a tragic season even as fans were expectant of a victory to go along with the IPL victory by big brother CSK.



IV                 Cometh the Hour, Cometh the Men

Experience played a key role in this edition of TNPL. The veteran Tamil Nadu and IPL players showed great masterclass as they set great standards for youngsters to achieve. Player of the series KB Arun Karthik (472 runs at average of 78), Anirudha Srikanth (347 runs at average of 49.57), R Sathish (233 runs at SR of 182), Prasant Rajesh (11 wickets) and Yo Mahesh (11 wickets) have all contributed to their sides, often playing the lone ranger.


Ramkumar Nair

Senior Executive

Crickaddict and Foodie



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2020 22 Yards | Powered by Open Designs India

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?